Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 28, 2021

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Chair Subcommittee on Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Committee United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Tom Cole Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Committee United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman DeLauro and Ranking Member Cole:

As our country continues to address the COVID-19 pandemic with nurses, nursing students, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) on the frontlines, we respectfully request that you invest in the nation's health by providing \$530 million for the Nursing Workforce Development Programs (Title VIII of the Public Health Service Act, administered by HRSA) in the Fiscal Year 2022 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies appropriations bill.

With more than four million Registered Nurses (RNs), APRNs, and other nurses with graduate degrees nationwide, the nursing profession makes up the largest sector of the healthcare workforce and are essential members of the health professions team. During the ongoing public health emergency, we have witnessed how vital our nation's nurses are to the health of all communities, particularly in rural and underserved areas. The RN and APRN pipelines rely on Title VIII program support to advance all aspects of the nursing workforce demand, including education, practice, recruitment, and retention. Title VIII programs bolster education at all levels, from entry-level preparation through graduate study. Further, these programs support academic institutions and the nurse faculty who prepare today's nursing students to be tomorrow's frontline providers.

It is now more critical than ever that communities across the country have access to equitable, evidence-based, high-quality, and timely care. Title VIII programs advance this endeavor by fostering training and employment opportunities to serve those most in need. For example, in Academic Year 2018-2019, the Title VIII Advanced Nursing Education (ANE) program supported 2,324 students, of which 62 percent received training in primary care settings. An additional 3,658 nursing students were supported under the Advanced Nursing Education Workforce (ANEW) program.

The Nursing Workforce Diversity program's success provides another great example of the Title VIII program's value. This program has increased opportunities for individuals who are from underrepresented groups and from disadvantaged backgrounds, with more than 11,000 students supported in Academic Year 2018-2019 alone. Additionally, program grantees worked with 789 training sites in medically underserved communities and primary care settings, providing 7,371 clinical training experiences.

These are just a few examples of how strong support and increased funding for our Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs directly contribute to the health care of our nation, especially in rural and underserved areas that need it most. We recognize that bold investment in the Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs translates into a strong investment in the nursing workforce, patient well-being, and the long-term sustainability of our nation's healthcare system. As we grapple with the immediate and long-term consequences of the pandemic, it is imperative that we support our current and future nursing workforce who continue to be on the frontlines and must be prepared for the health challenges of tomorrow. We greatly appreciate your past support and continued commitment to these programs as you consider our request.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Bonamici

Member of Congress

Rodney Davis

Member of Congress

Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development Programs Fiscal Year 2022 Signatories – April 28, 2021

Cindy Axne Josh Gottheimer Chris Pappas Nanette Diaz Barragán Bill Pascrell, Jr. Raúl M. Grijalva Donald S. Beyer Jr. Jahana Hayes Donald M. Payne, Jr. Earl Blumenauer **Brian Higgins** Chellie Pingree Stacey E. Plaskett Lisa Blunt Rochester Sara Jacobs Brendan F. Boyle Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Katie Porter Eddie Bernice Johnson Kathleen M. Rice Julia Brownley Cori Bush **Mondaire Jones** Deborah K. Ross Cheri Bustos John Katko Bobby L. Rush G. K. Butterfield William R. Keating John P. Sarbanes Tony Cárdenas James R. Langevin Jan Schakowsky André Carson Rick Larsen Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Sean Casten John B. Larson Terri A. Sewell David N. Cicilline Al Lawson Albio Sires Steve Cohen Elissa Slotkin Barbara Lee Gerald E. Connolly Teresa Leger Fernández Adam Smith Joe Courtney Mike Levin Abigail D. Spanberger **Angie Craig** Ted W. Lieu Jackie Speier Marilyn Strickland Jason Crow Zoe Lofgren Sharice L. Davids Stephen F. Lynch Eric Swalwell Doris Matsui Peter A. DeFazio Mark Takano

Diana DeGette
Suzan DelBene
Antonio Delgado
Mark DeSaulnier
Ted Deutch
Lloyd Doggett
Lizzie Fletcher

A. Donald McEachin
James P. McGovern
Joseph D. Morelle
Seth Moulton
Joe Neguse
Marie Newman
Eleanor Holmes Norte

Jared Golden

Eleanor Holmes Norton Ilhan Omar Dina Titus

Filemon Vela

Peter Welch

Susan Wild

Maxine Waters

Nikema Williams

John Yarmuth

Michael R. Turner