

Shared Governance and Open Communication

The University of Utah (UU) is the flagship campus of the Utah system of higher education that is governed by a Board of Regents. The President of UU reports to the Board of Trustees. Two Senior Vice-Presidents (SVPs) report to the President, one for the Health Sciences (HS) and one for the main campus (liberal arts and sciences). The HS is comprised of the University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics (UUHC), the College of Nursing (CON), the College of Pharmacy (COP), the College of Health (COH), the School of Medicine (SOM), and the School of Dentistry (SOD). UU is the only academic health sciences center (AHC) in Utah, Wyoming, Idaho Montana, and much of Nevada. The SVP for HS also holds the position of CEO of the Health System and the Dean of the SOM. All deans of the HS Colleges/Schools and the CEO of UUHC report to the SVP for HS thus providing a unified governance and reporting structure. The Dean of the CON, Dr. Morton, has full budgetary, decision making, and evaluation authority comparable to her dean peers in HS and main campus.

Dean Morton is a full partner in the leadership and governance of the health system with shared accountability. She is a member of the UUHC Board of Trustees and the UUHC Healthcare Executive Committee, the governing committee of UUHC. Dean Morton is a member of the University of Utah Medical Group (UUMG) Steering Committee that is the governing group for the SOM physician practice and the advanced practice nurse faculty from the CON who practice at UUHC. Dean Morton is a member of the SOM Chairs' Caucus which is the leadership team for the clinical services delivery at UUHC. She also is a member of the HS Leadership Council comprised of SOM chairs, numerous vice presidents for HS, the chief financial officer, and deans of all HS colleges/Schools.

In addition to Dean Morton, several other faculty from the CON hold key governance positions. Dr. Rothwell is Director of Evaluation for the Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) and Drs. Sward and Cummins are the co-leads for the Bioinformatics Division of the CCTS. The Associate Dean for Faculty Practice is a member of the Governance Committee for the Farmington Outpatient Center. She also holds key positions at UUHC such as a member of the Contracting Committee, the Risk Management Committee, and the Ambulatory Care Center Planning Committee.

All the Deans and selected leaders from the HS Colleges/Schools are consistently included in semi-annual strategic planning retreats for UUHC that focus on the transformation of healthcare and the future direction for the UUHC. In addition, the HS Colleges/Schools and selected leaders from UUHC meet semi-annually in a retreat that focuses on the research mission of HS and a retreat that focuses on the education mission. The organization structure of the HS allows the CON to have an equal and strong voice as an integral partner in strategic decision making for care delivery, research, and education.