## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 24, 2023

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chairman Subcommittee on Labor-HHS-Education Education Appropriations Committee United States House of Representatives Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor-HHS-Appropriations Committee United States House of Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We respectfully request that you invest in the nation's health, and support our nurses, nursing students, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs), by providing \$530 million for the Nursing Workforce Development Programs (Title VIII of the Public Health Service Act, administered by HRSA) in the Fiscal Year 2024 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies appropriations bill.

With more than four and a half million Registered Nurses (RNs), APRNs, and other nurses with graduate degrees nationwide, the nursing profession makes up the largest sector of the health care workforce and are essential members of the health professions team. We have witnessed how vital our nation's nurses are to the health of all communities, particularly in rural and underserved areas. The RN and APRN pipelines rely on Title VIII program support to advance all aspects of the nursing workforce demand, including education, practice, recruitment, and retention. Title VIII programs bolster education at all levels, from entry-level preparation through graduate study. Further, these programs support academic institutions and the nurse faculty who prepare today's nursing students to be tomorrow's frontline providers.

It is critical that communities across the country have access to equitable, evidence-based, high-quality, and timely care. Title VIII programs advance this endeavor by fostering training and employment opportunities to serve those most in need. For example, in Academic Year 2021-2022, the Title VIII Advanced Nursing Education programs supported more than 8,800 students, many of whom were trained in primary care settings or medically underserved communities.

The Nursing Workforce Diversity program's success provides another great example of the Title VIII program's value. This program has increased opportunities for individuals who are from underrepresented groups and from disadvantaged backgrounds, with 10,981 students supported in Academic Year 2021-2022.

These are just a few examples of how strong support and increased funding for our Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs directly contribute to the health care of our nation, especially in rural and underserved areas that need it most. We recognize that bold investment in the Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs translates into a strong investment in the nursing workforce, patient well-being, and the long-term sustainability of our nation's health care system. As we work to move beyond the COVID-19 pandemic, it is imperative that we support our current and future nursing workforce who continue to be on the frontlines and must be prepared for the health challenges of tomorrow. We greatly appreciate your past support and continued commitment to these programs as you consider our request.

## Sincerely,

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Jen A. Kiggans Memoer of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Adam Smith

Member of Congress

William R. Keating

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown

Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan
Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez
Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress Melanie Stansbury
Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Angie craig
Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Lucy McBath
Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

ma Dolla

Hu Sewell
Terri A. Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Nafine Waters

Jared Moskovitz Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Brian Higgins
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress Bill Pascrell, Jr.
Member of Congress

Trederica & Wilson
Frederica S. Wilson

wellvell

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress Jared Golden
Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Marie Glueserkamy Pere Member of Congress

Hilary DScholten Member of Congress Andrea Salinas

Andrea Salinas

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress Rick Zansen

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Member of Congress

Member of Congress