

THE BONUS NEWSLETTER

September 2018



CHAIR MESSAGE



Jason A. Wright, MPA
Senior Associate Dean for Finance & Administration
Columbia University School of Nursing

"Every job is a self-portrait of the person who did it. Autograph your work with excellence". This is an anonymous quote that I keep on my desk that inspires me each and every day. It also reminds me of why we are all involved in BONUS - in that we strive for excellence. The Steering Committee is meeting this month to plan the 2019 conference and to finalize the location for our 2020 meeting. Thank you all for the very informative and enriching feedback from our 2018 conference in San Antonio. We look forward to your continued input and participation – it's what makes the BONUS network truly special.

Warm regards,

Jason
Chair, BONUS Network



HIGHLIGHTS and REMINDERS



Congratulations to Susan Frey of Case Western Reserve University, the recipient of

2018 The Jerry Otzman Founders Award!

Presented by Lisa Miller, 2018 BONUS Chair and Rudy Gomez, recipient of Jerry Otzman Founder's Award 2013.

We are excited to welcome all of our 41 new members this year. AACN BONUS now has a total of 233 members and growing! We had 141 attendees at our 2018 annual conference at San Antonio, TX, 45 of which were first timers!

Please take a moment to update your profile at https://www.aacnnursing.org/Leadership-
Networks/BONUS

We thank everyone who has posted questions and answers in the AACN Connect BONUS Platform! This is a great source of information for members and we encourage you to participate.

We hope to hear from you!

BONUS Annual Meeting April 24-26, 2019 Seattle, WA

Registration

Please go to

http://www.aacnnursing.org/Professional-Development/Conference-Info/sessionaltcd/1521

Annual Meeting Brochures will be mailed out to Nursing Schools/Colleges and posted at AACN Connect.

Hotel Information Renaissance Seattle Hotel 515 Madison Street Seattle, WA 98104

- The cutoff date for reservations at the group rate is April 2, 2019.
- For reservations, call the hotel at 1-800-468-3571 and request the group rate for AACN/BONUS. You may also place your reservation online.
- The room block may fill before the deadline, so please make your reservation early.
 If/when the room block fills, AACN will post a list of alternative hotel on its website.

Continuing Education Credit

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing is providing continuing education (CE) certificates online after the program.

Contact Information

AACN Conference Team

655 K Street, NW, Suite 750 Washington, DC 20001 Phone: 202-463-6930

Email: conferences@aacnnursing.org

www.aacnnursing.org





Congratulations to the Newly Elected Steering Committee Members!

Chair Elect: Nancy Halderman Indiana Wesleyan University

Membership Committee Chair: Lynn Murphy
University of Alaska

Planning Committee Chair: Gerri Kremer University of Buffalo

Special Projects Committee Chair: Chermale Casem University of Memphis

BONUS MEMBERS FEATURE



Lisa Miller has oversight for the school's administrative affairs, including finances, facilities, human resources, information technology and continuing education. She has over twenty years of experience in higher education and is a Certified Public Accountant with a bachelor's of science in Marketing and a master's in business administration from Louisiana State University. She began her career in financial and accounting positions in private industry in Louisiana and Florida before serving as Associate Director at University of Florida's College of Nursing. She enjoys advancing AACN's Business Officers of Nursing Schools where she has served on the Steering Committee in various capacities, including Chair for two terms, 2009-10 and 2017-18.

Jason Wright oversees the school's finance and administration functions. This includes accounting and financial planning, grants management, facilities and human resources & faculty affairs. Jason has over twenty years of experience in financial management, with a bachelor's of science in Political Science and a master's degrees in political science and public administration. Prior to higher education, he began his career in NYC government as a budget analyst for the NYC Office of Management and Budget and as the previous Chief Financial Officer of the NYC Economic Development Corporation. Despite the traumas of keeping active schedules for his 14 year old daughter and 12 year old son, Jason enjoys cooking, fitness, wine and spending time with his wife.





American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Steering Committee and Members

Chair:

Chair-elect:

Immediate Past Chair:

Secretary:

Jason Wright

Nancy Halderman

Lisa Miller Jeannette Russell Columbia University

Indiana Wesleyan University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

California Baptist University

Membership Chair:

Lynn Murphy

Susan Griffin Shane Coelho

ReJeanne Sylvester Shelly Pass

Carola Williams Jennifer Johnstone Yvonne Coupland Michelle Cortez

Todd Fraser Margaret Hill University of Alaska

Rochester College Wichita State University

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Texas Tech University HS Center - El Paso

Indiana University South Bend Western Washington University UT Health Science Center San Antonio

West Coast University University of Florida University of Texas Austin

Communications Chair:

Karis Wolfe

Sandi Gregory Cindy Allshouse Amy Konop Shane Coelho West Virginia University Boise State University University of Pittsburgh Duquesne University Wichita State University

Nominating Chair:

Sylvia Mason

Kathy Whitenight Kelly Larson Deborah Zipay Rhonda Owens Chermale Casem Indiana University Kokomo Brigham Young University UNR-Orvis School of Nursing University of Pittsburgh Rush University

University of Memphis

Planning Chair:

Gerri Kremer

Lynn Murphy
Karis Wolfe
Carola Williams
R Scott Andrews
John Smith-Coppes
Anna Villa
Todd Fraser
Keri Hickey
Margaret Hill
Patty Espinoza

Shirley Davidson Chermale Casem Jennifer Meredith Renae Phillips Pamela Smith Mary Kate Wood Helene Lovett

Rhonda Owens

University of Buffalo
University of Alaska
West Virginia University
Western Washington University
Samuel Merritt University
Rasmussen College
University of Rhode Island
University of Florida
Coppin State University
University of Texas Austin
UT Health San Antonio
Rush University

Texas A&M University of Memphis Galen College of Nursing Colorado Mesa University University of Nevada Reno University San Francisco Nazareth College

Special Projects Chair:

Chermale Casem

Kelly Talarczyk Keri Hickey Mary Kate Wood Helene Lovett Lori Franco University of Memphis

University of Rochester School of Nursing

Coppin State University
University San Francisco
Nazareth College

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center