

# THE BONUS NEWSLETTER

September 2017



# CHAIR MESSAGE



**Lisa H. Miller, MBA, CPA**Associate Dean for Administrative Services
The University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill School of Nursing

Greetings fellow BONUS member, new and returning. As I write this message, I am hoping you all have settled into the new academic year and are enjoying cooler fall weather. The Steering Committee is meeting next week to plan the 2018 conference and we are anticipating an enriching event which will incorporate much of the feedback you provided after our 2017 meeting in Savannah. Several members have continued to share their ideas and volunteered to lead discussions which we encourage and appreciate. We welcome your input and look forward to continuing the long tradition of networking and supporting each other as BONUS colleagues.

Warm regards, Lisa

#### **NEWS**

### **New BONUS Officers and Committee Chairs:**

Chair – Lisa Miller of University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Chair Elect – Jason Wright of Columbia University
Planning Committee Chair – Gerri Kremer of University at Buffalo - SUNY
Nominating Committee Chair – Sylvia Mason of Indiana University – Kokomo
Communications Chair – Karis Wolfe of West Virginia University
Secretary – Jeannette Russell of California Baptist University
Form complete list of current BONUS Steering Committee Chairs, please visit:

http://www.aacnnursing.org/Leadership-Networks/BONUS/Steering-Committee

# Check out the AACN Connect – Premier Online Community for AACN Members

This new platform offers greater ease and functionality for all BONUS members, making it easier to interact, share ideas, answer questions and stay connected. You will use your AACN login to access the BONUS community via this link <a href="http://connect.aacnnursing.org/home">http://connect.aacnnursing.org/home</a>. Once logged in, simply choose "My Communities" to find our network. You can update your profile, browse discussion forum, and explore the many features of the new platform. We hope to hear from you!





# Jerry Otzman Award - Call for Nominations Coming Up!

The *Jerry Otzman Founder's Award* was established by the BONUS steering committee on October 11, 1991. The award was established to honor Jerry Otzman, BONUS' first president whose energy and inspiration led to the founding of BONUS. Jerry served as Chair of the organizing steering committee (1985-86 to 1988-89) and subsequently as BONUS' first President in 1989-90. Jerry died October 17, 1991. Many who were privileged to work with Jerry were inspired by his dedication and untiring efforts to BONUS and were hopeful that this gesture would help keep his enthusiasm alive. This award is given every 5 years.

The next award will be presented at our business meeting on April 26, 2018 in San Antonio, Texas. Please keep an eye out for the call for nominations in the next few weeks and consider submitting a nomination for this very special award.

# **UPCOMING EVENTS**

# SAVE THE DATE for 2018 BONUS MEETING in San Antonio, TX

The 2018 BONUS Meeting is set for April 25, 2018 – April 27, 2018 at Hilton Palacio Del Rio in San Antonio, TX. The American Association of Colleges of Nursing is providing continuing education (CE) certificates online after the program. Register by March 26, 2018 to avail the early bird price! Make your hotel reservations soon to guarantee a room as it will be a busy time of the year in San Antonio with the "Fiesta" that week. Brochure is coming up! We hope to see you all there!

For more information, please visit <a href="http://www.aacnnursing.org/Professional-">http://www.aacnnursing.org/Professional-</a> Development/Conference-Info/sessionaltcd/1421.

# **OTHERS/SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS**

#### Welcome New BONUS Members!!!

Please post a message to the community platform to introduce yourself! We look forward to hearing from you and we hope to see you in San Antonio!

# Donations needed for goodie bag items, giveaways, gift baskets for our 2018 meeting

If your school would like to donate items, please contact Lynn Murphy at <a href="mmurphy@alaska.edu">mmurphy@alaska.edu</a> (907-786-4556).

# Thank you to all the past BONUS members who have moved on to new positions outside of the School/College of Nursing

Special thanks to **Michelle Naus** and **Tim Mildren** who both served in the BONUS Leadership Network Steering Committee! Thank you for your leadership and we wish you all the best in your new positions!

Past annual meeting recaps/newsletters and photos are available upon request. Please contact Karis Wolfe at <a href="mailto:kpwolfe@hsc.wvu.edu">kpwolfe@hsc.wvu.edu</a>.