In This Section

Academic Progression Task Force

The Institute of Medicine’s Future of Nursing report called for the creation and testing of models that promote seamless academic progression to increase the number of nurses with baccalaureate and graduate degrees. AACN responded by developing joint statements with nursing and community college partners that reinforced a commitment to this work and also collaborated with the Tri-Council for Nursing on the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Academic Progression in Nursing grant. The national push to increase the education level of RNs has advanced several models, including statewide articulation agreements, dual enrollment programs, and community college-based baccalaureate programs. These models warrant review for national implications regarding best practices, workforce needs, and quality outcomes. 

The Task Force will: 

1. Evaluate models for academic progression in light of current and future workforce needs. 

2. Identify how best to maintain high quality standards in academic nursing. 

3. Incorporate contemporary thinking in higher education community concerning baccalaureate degrees granted by community colleges, articulation agreements, and best practices.

4. Review best practices for dual enrollment programs. 

5. Consider AACN’s position statement on The Baccalaureate Degree in Nursing as Minimal Preparation for Professional Practice in recommendations.  

6. Review and revise as needed the 2005 Position Statement on Baccalaureate Nursing Programs Offered by Community Colleges.

Please address your comments to either the chair or AACN staff liaison noted.

View Opportunities for Feedback

Jeanne Novotny, PhD, Chair
Dean, Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing
Texas Tech University
5001 El Paso Drive
El Paso, TX 79905
(915) 215-8000
jeanne.novotny@ttuhsc.edu

Susan Baker, PhD
Dean, College of Nursing
Saint Petersburg College
7200 66th St. N
Pinellas Park, FL 33781
(727) 341-3640
baker.susan@spcollege.edu

Judy Beal, PhD, Board Liaison
Dean and Professor, School of Nursing and Health Sciences
Simmons College
300 The Fenway
Boston, MA 02115
(617) 521-2139
judy.beal@simmons.edu

Mary Burman, PhD
Dean, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing
University of Wyoming
351C Health Sciences Center
1000 E. University Ave
Laramie, WY 82071
(307) 766-3903
mburman@uwyo.edu

Debra Gates, PhD
Chair, Division of Nursing
Keuka College
141 Central Avenue
Keuka Park, NY 14478
(315) 279-5273
dgates@keuka.edu

Pam Jeffries, PhD
Dean, School of Nursing
George Washington University
2030 M St NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 994-7901
pjeffries@gwu.edu

Susan Luparell, PhD
Associate Professor, College of Nursing
Montana State University
PO Box 173560
Bozeman, MT 59717
(406) 771-4459
luparell@montana.edu

Sally Maliski, PhD
Dean, School of Nursing
University of Kansas
2032 Murphy Administration Building
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
(913) 588-1665
smaliski@kumc.edu

Cecilia McVey, MHA
VA Boston Healthcare System
1400 VFW Parkway
Boston, MA
(617) 323-7700
cecilia.mcvey@va.gov

Linda Paskiewicz, PhD
Director, Department of Nursing
Saint Mary’s College
Notre Dame, IN 46556
(574) 284-4000
lpaskie@saintmarys.edu

Kimberly Sharp, PhD
Dean, School of Nursing
Mississippi College
Box 4037
Clinton, MS 39058
(601) 925-3278
ksharp@mc.edu

Robert Rosseter, MBA, AACN Staff Liaison
Chief Communications Officer
(202) 463-6930 ext. 231
rrosseter@aacnnursing.org