AACN Governance

AACN is governed by a 14-member Board of Directors, 11 of whom represent a member institution, and 2 represent nursing practice. AACN's President and CEO also serves as an ex-officio member of the Board.  The Association convenes various committees including Board Committees (Executive, Governance, Finance, and Audit Committees), Nominating Committee, Advisory Committees including Diversity/Inclusion, Government Affairs, Membership, and Program Subcommittees, and establishes Task Forces and Advisory Groups as needed to focus on topics of critical concern. Leadership Network Steering Committees oversee the activities of AACN’s seven Leadership Networks for faculty and staff. A Joint Council convenes annually and provides an opportunity for committees, task forces and advisory groups to engage directly with the Board of Directors.

Call for Nominations for 2025 Election

 The AACN Nominating Committee is seeking nominations for the following positions on the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee:

  • Treasurer
  • Board Member-at-Large (4 vacancies)
  • Practice Board Member-at-Large (1 vacancy)
  • Nominating Committee (3 vacancies)

Nomination packets are due October 4, 2024

Download Nomination Packet

Board of Directors

headshot of jean giddens

Chair, 2024-2026
Jean Giddens, PhD, RN, FAAN, ANEF
University of Kansas

Julie Sanford

Chair-Elect, 2024-2026
Julie Sanford, DNS, RN, FAAN
The University of Alabama

Victoria Niederhauser

Secretary, 2024-2026
Victoria Niederhauser, DrPH, RN, FAAN
University of Tennessee Knoxville

headshot of Judith Karshmer

Treasurer, 2023-2025 (first term)
Judith Karshmer, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, RN, FAAN
Arizona State University

headshot of stephen cavanagh

Member-at-Large, 2024-2026 (second term)
Stephen Cavanagh, PhD, MPA, RN, FACHE, FAAN
University of California-Davis

Rhoberta Haley

Member-at-Large, 2024-2026 (second term)
Rhoberta Haley, PhD, RN, FNP
Pacific Lutheran University

Kimberly Hunter

Practice Member-at-Large, 2024-2026 (first term)
Kimberly Hunter, DNP, MBA, RN, NEA-BC
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

headshot of deborah jones

Member-at-Large, 2023-2025 (second term)
Deborah J. Jones, PhD, RN, FAAN
University of Texas Medical Branch

Robin Newhouse

Member-at-Large, 2023-2025 (first term)
Robin P. Newhouse, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Indiana University

Demetrius Porche

Member-at-Large, 2023-2025 (second term)
Demetrius J. Porche, DNS, PhD, ANEF, FACHE, FAANP, FAAN
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

Julie Swann

Practice Member-at-Large, 2023-2025 (first term)
Julie Swann, MBA, MHA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC
Emory Saint Joseph Hospital

Rita Trofino

Member-at-Large, 2024-2026 (first term)
Rita Trofino, DNP, MNEd, RN
Saint Francis University

Lin Zhan

Member-at-Large, 2023-2025
Lin Zhan, PhD, RN, FAAN
University of California, Los Angeles

Deborah Trautman

President and Chief Executive Officer (ex officio)
Deborah Trautman, PhD, RN, FAAN
American Association of Colleges of Nursing


How to Volunteer with AACN

AACN Member deans/directors and faculty wishing to explore volunteer leadership opportunities within the organization are invited to register their interest by completing their Volunteer Profile, located in your MyAACN Dashboard under "Update My Account".

Sign Up to Volunteer


Committees and Task Forces

AACN's committees and task forces work to further the readiness of nursing education and nursing research for a changing health care environment. Task forces are appointed by the Board as issues arise that require study and action.