Innovations in Professional Nursing Education

About the Award

This award recognizes the outstanding work of AACN member schools to re-envision traditional models for nursing education and lead programmatic change. Innovation awards, including a monetary prize of $1,000, will be given annually in four institutional categories:

  • Small School
  • Academic Health Center (AHC)
  • Private School without an AHC
  • Public School without an AHC

See Past Award Winners >>

Current Deadline for Applications is June 1, 2018

Award Criteria

Schools submitting nominations must show that the programmatic innovation:

  • Shows evidence of execution and subsequent sustainability for at least 12 months after a full execution cycle
  • Serves as a catalyst for change within the curriculum and/or educational mission of the institution
  • Has the potential for replication and dissemination
  • Has involved teams of faculty when possible (e.g., across programs, disciplines)Is consistent with AACN’s mission and vision
  • Demonstrates advancement of professional nursing education

Nominations will be reviewed by the AACN Membership Committee with recommendations forwarded to the full
Board of Directors for endorsement. Programs receiving an award will be invited to send representatives to
accept the honor at the Academic Nursing Leadership Conference (formerly Fall Semiannual Meeting) in
October 2018.

Submission Process

All nominations should be electronically submitted via the online application.

Nominations are due June 1, 2018.

For more information, contact AACN Membership Director Beth Aronson at 202-463-6930, ext. 263 or

2017 Award Winners

Saint Mary's College

2017 Award Winner - Small Liberal Art School

View Innovation

Mennonite College of Nursing at Illinois State University

2017 Award Winner - Public Schools without an AHC

View Innovation

Medical University of South Carolina

2017 Award Winner - Academic Health Center

View Innovation