Board of Directors

AACN is governed by a 14-member Board of Directors, 11 of whom represent a member institution, and 2 represent nursing practice. AACN's President and CEO also serves as an ex-officio member of the Board. The Association supports several committees, including the Government Affairs, Finance, Nominating, Membership, Program, and Diversity and Inclusion Committees, and sponsors task forces on a variety of professional concerns. Leadership Network Steering Committees oversee the activities of AACN’s seven Leadership Networks for faculty and staff. A Joint Council convenes annually and provides an opportunity for committees, task forces and advisory groups to engage directly with the Board of Directors.

Headshot of Cynthia McCurrenChair, 2022-2024
Cynthia McCurren, PhD
University of Michigan-Flint
Flint, MI



Headshot of Jean GiddensChair-Elect, 2022-2024
Jean Giddens, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA



Headshot of Lin Zhan

Treasurer, 2021-2023 (second term)
Lin Zhan, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA



Headshot of Julie SanfordSecretary, 2022-2024 (first term)
Julie Sanford, DNS
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS



Headshot of Pier A. BroadnaxMember-at-Large, 2021-2023 (first term)
Pier A. Broadnax, PhD
University of the District of Columbia
Washington, DC



Headshot of Stephen CavanaghMember-at-Large, 2022-2024 (first term)
Stephen Cavanagh, PhD
University of California-Davis
Davis, CA



Headshot of Deborah J. JonesMember-at-Large, 2021-2023 (first term)
Deborah J. Jones, PhD
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX



Headshot of Jerry MansfieldPractice Member-at-Large, 2022-2024 (second term)
Jerry Mansfield, PhD
Ohio Region for Mount Carmel Health System/Trinity Health
Columbus, OH



Headshot of Susan MullaneyPractice Member-at-Large, 2021-2023 (first term)
Sue Mullaney, DNP
UnitedHealth Group
Minnetonka, MN



Headshot of Victoria NiederhauserMember-at-Large, 2022-2024 (second term)
Victoria Niederhauser, DrPH
University of Tennessee Knoxville
Knoxville, TN



Headshot of Demetrius J. PorcheMember-at-Large, 2021-2023 (first term)
Demetrius J. Porche, DNS, PhD
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, LA



Headshot of Ora StricklandMember-at-Large, 2022-2024 (first term)
Ora Strickland, PhD
Florida International University
Miami, FL



Headshot of Christine VerniMember-at-Large, 2022-2023 (first term)
Christine Verni, EdD
Niagara University
Niagara, NY



TrautmanPresident and Chief Executive Officer (ex officio)
Deborah Trautman, PhD
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
Washington, DC