Staff Directory

AACN Leadership Team

Deborah Trautman, PhD, RN, FAAN
President and Chief Executive Officer
Executive Assistant Phyllis Todd
Jennifer Ahearn, MBA, CAE
Chief Operating Officer
Brigit Carter, PhD, RN, CCRN, FAAN
Chief Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Officer
Susan Corbridge, PhD, APRN, FAANP, FCCP, FAAN
Chief Essentials Program Officer
Robert Rosseter, MBA, MS
Chief Communications Officer
 Joan Stanley, PhD, NP, FAANP, FAAN
Chief Academic Officer
 George Zangaro, PhD, RN, FAAN
Chief Policy and Scientific Officer

Academic Nursing

Joan Stanley Chief Academic Officer
Kathy McGuinn Director of IPE and Practice Partnerships
Cassandra Godzik Director of Nursing Education Initiatives
Allison Jacobs Associate Director of Population Health Initiatives
Bridget Bingle Nursing Education Coordinator
ELNEC Project Team End-of-Life-Care (ELNEC)

Communications and Media Relations

Robert Rosseter Chief Communications Officer
Amy McElroy Director of Communications and Content Strategy
Jessica Washington Associate Director of Marketing
William O’Connor Editorial Director (Journal of Professional Nursing)
Max Garrison Communications Coordinator

Conferences, Leadership Programs, and Webinars

Cynthia Leaver Director of Academic Nursing Development 
Nadja Beverage Director of Conferences
Alexa Tehansky Associate Director of Online Learning and Engagement
Sean Holloway Online Learning Coordinator
Kate Waggoner Conference Coordinator
Sofia Ruiz Conference Coordinator

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Brigit Carter Chief Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Officer
Wanda Thruston Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Christine Downing Associate Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Vernell DeWitty Senior Consultant for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Essentials Implementation

Susan Corbridge Chief Essentials Program Officer
Sandra Maroa Essentials Program Assistant

Foundation for Academic Nursing

Katie Fioravanti Foundation Director
Alexa Betances Foundation Assistant

Government Affairs and Policy

George Zangaro Chief Policy and Scientific Officer
Rachel Stevenson Director of Government Affairs
Colleen Leners Director of Policy
Judy Ly Government Affairs and Policy Manager
Sonia Garfinkel Administrative Assistant
Nicole Huber Government Affairs and Policy Assistant
Allison Record All of Us Grant Assistant

Membership and Leadership Networks

Beth Aronson Director of Membership and Business Development
Shaima Abdul-Aziz  Membership Coordinator


Stephanie Wurth Director of Application Services and Strategic Partnerships
Ana Ortiz Lopez NursingCAS Outreach Manager
Katherine Avery NursingCAS Admissions and Outreach Coordinator

Operations and Finance

Jennifer Ahearn Chief Operating Officer
Heather Shelford Director of Finance and Administration
Tony Dempsey Information Technology Director
Lavelle Lamb-Anthony Human Resources Specialist
Gene Throwe Office Manager
Stephanie Duke Database and Applications Manager
Anthony Castillo Staff Accountant
Paige Burger Administrative Assistant
Dawn Alexander Office Services Assistant

Research and Data

Di Fang Director of Institutional Research and Data Services
Jenny Keyt Data Manager
Carrie Byrne Data Assistant

Student Initiatives and GNSA

Marta Okoniewski Director of Student Engagement (Jonas Scholarship Grant)
Marilyne Njuraita Student Services Assistant

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

Jennifer Butlin Executive Director
Benjamin Murray Deputy Executive Director
Daniel Michalski Director of Accreditation Services
Lina Nandy Director of Program Monitoring
Priya Lorenzen Associate Director
LaKisha Dillingham Accreditation Manager
Mary Wells Accreditation Manager
Genelee Pena Accreditation Operations Coordinator
Pamela Pecku Accreditation Coordinator
Monica Fritz Accreditation Assistant
Megan Terpstra Accreditation Assistant
Madeline Wales Accreditation Assistant
Blaine Hoffman Accreditation Assistant
Sonya Lane Administrative Assistant

Commission on Nurse Certification (CNC)

Lynn Gardner Director of Certification, Commission on Nurse Certification

Interprofessional and Quality Initiatives

Shelley McKearney IPEC Associate Director