CNC Board of Commissioners

Effective July 1, 2019

CNC is governed by the CNC Board of Commissioners comprised by nine members, four of which represent academia, another four represent practice and one public-member.

Commissioners            Term Expiration               
Tobie Olsan, PhD, MPA, RN, CNL, NEA-BC, FNAP (Chair)
Professor Emeritus of Nursing
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY                           
  Chair Term Expires June 30, 2021;
Board Term Expires June 30, 2022
Becky Hulett, DNP, RN, CNL (Vice-Chair)
MSN Program Director and Assistant Professor
Elmhurst College
Elmhurst, IL
  June 30, 2021   
Sonya Curtis, DNP, MBA, RN, CNL (Treasurer)
Patient Safety Program Manager
Michael E. DeBecky VA Medical Center
Houston, TX
  June 30, 2022    
Linda Borns, MS, RN, CCRN, CNL (Secretary)
Clinical Nurse Leader
Dayton VA Medical Center
Dayton, OH 
  June 30, 2021    

Mary Bishop, DNP, RN, CNL, NEA-BC, CNE
Associate Professor
Tanner Health System School of Nursing, University of West Georgia
Carrollton, GA 
  June 30, 2021    

Tamara Houston, MSN, RN, CNL, PHN
Fresno Surgical Hospital                                           
Director of Surgical Services
Fresno, CA

  June 30, 2022  
Julius Kitutu, PhD  (Public Member)
Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Student Affairs & Alumni Relations
University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing
Pittsburgh, PA
  June 30, 2022     
Bobbi Shatto, PhD, RN, CNL
Coordinator, MSN-CNL & Accelerated MSN-CNL Programs
Saint Louis University Trudy Busch Valentine SON
Saint Louis, MO
  June 30, 2023  
Megan Williams, MSN, RN, CNL
Manager of Complex Care
Regional One Health
Memphis, TN
  June 30, 2023  


Shantal H Johnson (Ex-Officio)
CNC Director
(202) 370-3608
Nuria Gramkee (Liaison)
Certification Manager
(202) 370-3608