Skip to main content

AACN Announces Nursing Faculty in Inaugural Cohort of ELAN

Published August 12, 2019

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is pleased to announce that 38 nursing faculty from across the nation attended the inaugural Elevating Leaders in Academic Nursing (ELAN) program, held on July 28-August 2 in Chaska, Minnesota. ELAN is part of AACN’s new leadership development portfolio, AACN LEADS, and is specifically designed aspiring deans and senior faculty in leadership roles. The year-long fellowship provides participants with a focused assessment experience, a range of content and exercises related to successful executive leadership, and the opportunity to establish a peer network that fosters long-term partnerships and collegial support.


View 2019-2020 Cohort Directory


Faculty from ELAN’s first cohort come from 20 states and represent an array of institution types, including small liberal arts programs, public and private schools, and large academic health centers. These individuals include:

  • Christine Argenbright, James Madison University
  • Tammy Barbé, Mercer University
  • Susan L. Bindon, University of Maryland
  • Melissa Burdi, Purdue University Global
  • Lorraine Byrnes, University of Hawaii Manoa
  • Christopher Coleman, Indiana University Fort Wayne
  • Sharon Dudley-Brown, University of Delaware
  • Terri Durbin, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Eileen Danaher Hacker, Indiana University
  • Mary Haras, Georgetown University
  • Brian Holland, University of Florida
  • Leann Horsley, South Dakota State University
  • Kechi Iheduru-Anderson, Central Michigan University
  • Randy A. Jones, University of Virginia
  • Susan Kelly-Weeder, Boston College
  • Shari Lambert, University of Detroit
  • Kris L’Ecuyer, Saint Louis University
  • John Michael Leger, University of Texas Medical Branch Galveston
  • Jennifer Lemoine, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Beth Luthy, Brigham Young University
  • Denise Maguire, University of South Florida
  • Yondell Masten, Texas Tech University
  • Anmy Mayfield, Western Governors University
  • Michelle McMahon, Curry College
  • Natalie Murphy, University of Missouri-St. Louis
  • Kathleen Richardson, Pacific Lutheran University
  • Lisa Schiller, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
  • Erin Shankel, Belmont University
  • Kathleen Sheikh, Widener University
  • Susan Liipfert Shelton, Florida State University
  • Judy Smith, Barnes Jewish College
  • Andrew Storer, Elms College
  • Christine Verni, D’Youville College
  • Allison Vorderstrasse, New York University
  • Roberta Waite, Drexel University
  • Cindy Weston, Texas A&M University
  • Brian Widmar, Vanderbilt University
  • Lynn Wiles, Old Dominion University

Application Cycle for 2020-2021 Cohort will Open in October 2019. For more information about ELAN and AACN’s leadership development programs, see AACN LEADS.