Skip to main content

AACN Recognizes Excellence at the 2021 Academic Nursing Leadership Conference

Published November 03, 2021

At the 2021 Academic Nursing Leadership Conference (ANLC), AACN presented several awards to individuals and member institutions for their outstanding contributions to nursing education, research, and practice. The conference was held as a hybrid event (in-person and virtual), October 30-November 1, in Washington, DC.

Lt. Gen. Dorothy HoggLieutenant General (Retired) Dorothy Hogg received the John P. McGovern Invitational Lectureship Award. Lt. Gen. Hogg recently retired from her position as the Surgeon General, Headquarters U.S. Air Force, and the first Surgeon General of the U.S. Space Force. She was one of the highest-ranking nurses in the U.S. military. Her presentation focused on leading through change. The McGovern Award honors John P. McGovern for his distinguished record of scholarship, skill, and service. Award recipients are chosen by the AACN Board of Directors based on their notable contributions to nursing, health care, or higher education.

Three individuals were presented with AACN’s Emeritus Membership Award, an honor granted to institutional representatives who have retired from the deanship and to whom the honorary title emeritus has been conferred by their respective institutions. Receiving this honor were:

  • Dr. Harriet Feldman from Pace University. Dr. Feldman’s contributions to AACN include service on the Board of Directors, Government Affairs Committee, New Dean Mentoring Program, Executive Development Series, and the Leadership Development Program Advisory Group.
  • Dr. Greer Glazer from the University of Cincinnati. Dr. Glazer served on the Board of Directors as well as a number of committees and task forces, including the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Government Affairs Committee, and Futures Task Force, in addition to her recent service on the National Academcy of Medicine's 2020-2030 Future of Nursing Committee.
  • Dr. Terri Weaver from the University of Illinois Chicago. Dr. Weaver served on the Board of Directors and various committees and task forces including the Finance Committee, Nominating Committee, the Task Force on the Research Focused Doctoral Program Pathways to Excellence, and Board Liaison to the Academic Health Centers Like Schools Discussion Group.

Dr. Harriet Feldman  Dr. Greer Glazer  Dr. Terri Weaver

Two individuals received AACN’s Honorary Membership Award, an award conferred upon former active AACN institutional representatives who have retired from the deanship, but who continue to further nursing education or health care. Receiving this award were:

  • Dr. Marion Broome from Duke University who has served AACN since 2004 in multiple capacities. Her service includes participating as a member of the Finance Committee, the Doctoral Conference Planning Committee, Government Affairs Committee, and as the facilitator for the Academic Health Center Like Schools discussion group. In addition, she currently serves as Chair of the Research-Focused Doctoral Program Pathways to Excellence Task Force and will continue to serve as Chair as an Honorary Member of AACN.
  • Dr. Shevellanie Lott from Hampton University has served as a highly engaged member of AACN since 2006. Dr. Lott’s service includes moderator at the Doctoral Education Conference and a reviewer of the Faculty Teaching and Scholarship Awards.  She currently serves as a member of the Research-Focused Doctoral Program Pathways to Excellence Task Force and will be continuing to serve as an Honorary Member of AACN.Rear Admiral Susan Orsega

Rear Admiral Susan Orsega received the Lois Capps Policy Luminary Award, which recognizes leadership in advancing health care and the nursing profession at the federal level. Rear Admiral Orsega was recognized for her integration of health policy into nursing leadership both nationally and internationally, particularly for her contribution to the health and the readiness of our nation during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

AACN member institutions also were recognized with several honors.

The New Era for Academic Nursing Award recognizes AACN member institutions that have successfully implemented recommendations from AACN's report Advancing Healthcare Transformation: A New Era for Academic Nursing. This year’s award was presented to the University of Illinois Chicago College of Nursing and University of Illinois Health.

The Innovations in Professional Nursing Education Award recognizes pioneering initiatives launched by AACN member institutions. At the ANLC, two awards were presented:

  • Private Colleges/University category: The University of Indianapolis School of Nursing
  • Public Colleges/Universities category: The Ohio State University College of Nursing


The Exemplary Academic-Practice Partnership Awards are presented annually to AACN member schools and their practice partners recognizing highly productive and model academic-practice partnerships. Awards were presented to:

  • University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Nursing and Jackson Public Schools and South Delta School Districts
  • Hofstra-Northwell School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies and Northwell Health System
  • University of Tennessee-Knoxville College of Nursing and Cherokee Health Systems


Related Articles