In This Section

Press Contact

Robert Rosseter
AACN Chief Communications Officer
(202) 463-6930 ext. 231



About the American Association of Colleges of Nursing
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for academic nursing representing more than 850 schools of nursing nationwide. AACN establishes quality standards for nursing education, influences the nursing profession to improve health care, and promotes public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice. 



New Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars Selected by AACN and the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future

Published April 23, 2018

WASHINGTON, D.C., April 23, 2018 – The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is pleased to announce that five Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars have been selected through a national scholarship program funded by the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future. Launched to address the faculty shortage and enhance diversity among nurse educators, this AACN-administered program provides generous financial support, mentoring, and leadership development to graduate students from minority backgrounds who aspire to teach in our nation’s schools of nursing. 

Joining the 55 scholars previously selected for this prestigious honor are the following students, who are enrolled in PhD and DNP nursing programs:  


  • Griselle B. Estrada, Duquesne University 
  • Monica J. Harmon, Villanova University 
  • Stephanie Hosley, The Ohio State University 
  • Christina Jones, University of Florida 
  • Carli Zegers, University of Nebraska Medical Center

"AACN congratulates the new cohort of faculty scholars whose impressive academic and professional backgrounds will make them excellent nursing leaders and inspirational role models for the next generation of nurses,” said AACN Board Chair Ann Cary. “We are grateful to the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for joining with AACN and taking decisive action to help diversify the nurse faculty population.” 

More details and photos of this year’s scholarship recipients are posted on the AACN Web site.

Addressing a National Need

Faculty shortages at nursing schools across the country are limiting student capacity at a time when the need for registered nurses continues to grow. The need for more nursing faculty from ethnically diverse populations is particularly acute since only 15.8% of full-time nursing faculty are from groups under-represented in the profession.  
To address this great need, the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future joined with AACN in 2007 to launch a national scholarship program designed to increase diversity within the nurse faculty population. The J&J Campaign-AACN Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars program provides financial assistance to eligible nursing students to facilitate the completion of a doctoral or master’s degree in nursing. Five Scholars are selected each year to receive $18,000 in funding support for a maximum 2 years. Recipients must establish a mentoring relationship with a seasoned faculty member and attend a leadership development program as part of AACN’s annual Faculty Development Conference. Scholars also must agree to teach in a U.S. school of nursing after graduation. 
Since the program was launched, 55 Scholars have been supported through this successful initiative. AACN typical receives 65 to 80 applications for the 5 slots each year, demonstrating strong interest in this program. The award selection committee – a diverse group of 9 nursing school deans and faculty members – work diligently each year to ensure that top candidates for the scholarship are selected. This year’s committee members included:

  • Willie Mae Abel, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Maija Anderson, DNP, RN Director, Nursing Programs, Morgan State University 
  • Estrella Evangelista, DNP, CNL, RN, Adjunct Clinical Faculty, School of Nursing, Nevada State College
  • James A. Fain, PhD, RN, FAAN, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Graduate School of Nursing, University of Massachusetts Medical School 
  • Barbara H. Johnson, PhD, MS, BS Dean, School of Nursing, Belhaven University 

  • Shevellanie Lott, PhD, RN, CNE, Dean, School of Nursing, Hampton University 

  • Danita Potter, PhD, RN, Associate Professor, RN to BSN Director, College of Nursing and School of Allied Health, Northwestern State University
  • Courtney Reinisch, DNP RN, FNP-BC, Associate Professor, Undergraduate Program Director, School of Nursing, Montclair State University
  • Asma A. Taha, PhD, RN, CPNP-PC/AC Associate Professor, Director Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program, School of Nursing, Oregon Health and Science University  

Upcoming Webinar on Applying to the Faculty Scholar Program
Carli Zegers, a PhD student and 2017 Johnson & Johnson – AACN scholar, will lead a webinar on Monday, April 30 at 4:00 pm (ET) titled Set Yourself Apart: Developing a Successful Scholarship Application. Candidates interested in applying for the scholarship are encouraged to sign up to receive tips on how to develop a strong application. To register, visit AACN's Upcoming Webinars page.
Application Deadline Approaching for 2018
The 2018 application cycle for the Johnson & Johnson/AACN Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars ends May 31, 2018. For application materials and eligibility, view the scholarship website