Skip to main content

White Coat Ceremony Recipients

Though the White Coat Ceremony was created by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation more than 25 years ago for medical schools, the Gold Foundation-AACN initiative marks the first time a coordinated effort has been developed to offer a similar ceremony at nursing schools. In nursing, a White Coat Ceremony typically consists of the recitation of an oath, an address by an eminent role model, and a reception for students and invited guests. Students also are given a specially designed pin that serves as a visual reminder of their oath and commitment to providing high quality care. Launched in 2013, the groundbreaking collaboration between the Gold Foundation and AACN has enabled 410  schools of nursing in 50 states to offer ceremonies designed to instill a commitment to providing compassionate care among the next generation of registered nurses. 

Hosting a White Coat Ceremony? View our toolkit of helpful resources here.
Schools may order free pins here
Congratulations to the Selected Schools of Nursing for 2021 Funding!

Read the press release

Anderson University (IN)
Arkansas State University
Baker College - Owosso
Bethel College (KS)
Catawba College (NC)
Christian Brothers University (TN)
Binghamton University (AL)
Eastern Illinois University
Emory & Henry College (VA)
Fitchburg State University (MS)
Harding University (AR)
Herzing University (WI)
Idaho State University
King University (TN)
Loyola University New Orleans
Minot State University (ND)
Morningside College (IA)
Mount Marty University (SD)
Nebraska Wesleyan University
New Jersey City University
Northwestern College (IA)
Oral Roberts University (OK)
Pacific Lutheran University (WA)
Park University (MO)
Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing (TX)


Resurrection University (IL)
Saginaw Valley State University (MI)
Shenandoah University (VA)
Southeastern Louisiana University
Southern Nazarene University (OK)
Stockton University
Stony Brook University (NY)
The University of Southern Mississippi
Union College (KY)
Union University (TN)
University of Alaska - Anchorage
University of Arkansas-Fort Smith    
University of Colorado 
University of Indianapolis    
University of Minnesota    
University of Missouri - Saint Louis    
University of North Carolina Charlotte
University of Oklahoma
University of Phoenix
University of Wyoming (WY)    
Utica College (NY)
Walsh University    (OH)
Waynesburg University (PA)
Western New Mexico University
Wilkes University  (PA)