The John P. McGovern Invitational Lectureship Award

This award honors John P. McGovern for his noted clinical practice and research, and distinguished record of scholarship, skill, and service. Award recipients are chosen by the AACN Board of Directors on the basis of their scholarship and the notability of their contributions to nursing, health care, or higher education. Recipients regularly address the membership at AACN's Academic Nursing Leadership Conference.

Past Recipients

2022    Tener Goodwin Veenema, Professor, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health

2021    Lt. Gen. (retired) Dorothy A. Hogg, Surgeon General, Headquarters U.S. Air Force, Pentagon

2020    Cynthia Clark, Strategic Nursing Advisor, ATI Nursing Education and Founder of Civility Matters™

2019    Malcom Cox, Consultant, and Former Chief Academic Affiliations Officer, Department of Veterans Affairs

2018    Patricia Horoho, Chief Executive Officer, OptumServe

2017    Linda Burnes Bolton, Vice President for Nursing, Chief Nursing Officer, & Director of Nursing Research at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

2016    Sister Carol Keehan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Catholic Health Association of the United States

2015    Victor J. Dzau, President, National Academy of Medicine

2014    Jennie Chin Hansen, CEO, American Geriatrics Society

2013    John Rowe, Professor, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health

2012    George E. Thibault, President, Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation

2010    Michael Bleich and Members of the Committee on the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Initiative on the Future of Nursing, at the Institute of Medicine

2009    40th Anniversary Celebration (no award given)

2008    Susan Hassmiller, Senior Adviser, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

2007    Paul Farmer, Founding Director, Partners In Health

2006    Louis W.  Sullivan, Dean Emeritus, Morehouse School of Medicine

2005    Catherine Rick, Chief Nursing Officer, Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Health Administration 

2004    Linda H. Aiken, Director, Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research, University of Pennsylvania

2003    Donna Shalala, President, University of Miami and Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

2002    David Lawrence, Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.

2001    Elizabeth Norman, Author, We Band of Angels, Professor, New York University School of Nursing

2000    Mary Wakefield, Director, Center for Health Policy and Research, George Mason University

1999    Faith Gabelnick, President, Pacific University

1998    Juliet Garcia, President, University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College

1997    Ruth Lubic, Maternity Center Association

1996    Shirley Chater, Commissioner of Social Security

1995    Roger Bulger, President, Association of Academic Health Centers

2022 Award Recipient

Dr. Tener Goodwin Veenema

Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg
School of Public Health

deb trautman, cynthia mccurren, and tener goodwin veenema