Faculty Policy Intensive

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing will hold its fifth annual Faculty Policy Intensive on October 30-November 1, 2017 in Washington, DC. 

This three-day immersion program is designed for faculty of AACN member schools who are interested in actively pursuing a role in health policy.

2017 Application Cycle Now Closed. 


“I would recommend this program to any nurse educator who wants to gain a more national perspective, and  hear it directly from those who are making health policy decisions…”

“The AACN Faculty Policy Intensive was indeed an intensive learning experience on the importance of policy for the future in nursing…”

2016 Faculty Policy Intensive Fellows
Wendy Hansbrough, PhD, RN, NE-BC
California State University San Marcos

Dr. Hansbrough is a nurse scientist and educator whose background includes critical care nursing and experience as a nurse leader at academic medical centers. She is an Assistant Professor of Nursing at California State University in San Marcos where she teaches health care policy, leadership, and research. Her research interests include exploration of the complexity of the nurse patient relationship. Most recently, she has been working to enhance student learning outcomes by employing high quality simulated clinical experiences. This work is aimed at increasing the consistency of clinical learning and demonstrating the value of this pedagogy in nursing education.

Mallie Kozy, PhD, RN
University of Portland

Dr. Kozy has been involved in nursing education for over 20 years and is currently a faculty member at the University of Portland School of Nursing. Her practice interests include mental health and population health. She currently serves as a member of the Nursing Education Advisory Group for the Oregon State Board of Nursing and President of the Board of Directors for the Oregon Center for Nursing. She received her PhD from Duquesne University, her Masters of Science in Nursing from Medical College of Ohio and her Bachelors of Science in Nursing from Duke University.

Elizabeth Kuzma, DNP, FNP-BC
University of Michigan

Dr. Kuzma is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan School of Nursing. Dr. Kuzma is a practicing nurse practitioner and is committed to the highest patient outcomes. She serves as the American Association of Nurse Practitioners’ State Representative for Michigan and has been extremely active in the policy arena for professional and patient advocacy. Dr. Kuzma believes that nurses must harness their position to positively influence policy to improve patients access to high-quality, cost-effective care by providers who are able to practice to the full extent of their education and training.

Carole Myers, PhD, RN
University of Tennessee Knoxville

Dr. Myers is a University of Tennessee College of Nursing Associate Professor with a joint appointment in the Department of Public Health.  She coordinates interdisciplinary graduate health policy courses and a graduate certificate in health policy.  Myers conducts research that centers on policymaking and health services with an emphasis on access to care, TennCare, public health programs, and APRNs. Myers is a strong advocate for access to high-quality, cost-effective care. She was recently appointed as a Senior Fellow by the George Washington University School of Nursing Center for Health Policy and Media Engagement.


2015 Faculty Policy Intensive Fellows

Jane Campbell
Northern Michigan University

Mai Kung
Florida State University

Patsy Cornelius
, PhD, RN
University of Arkansas Fort Smith

David LaFevers
University of Missouri-Kansas City

Amanda Fallin
, PhD, RN
University of Kentucky

Janice Miller
Thomas Jefferson University

Eileen Fry-Bowers
, PhD, JD,
Loma Linda University 
Suzanne Staebler
Emory University


2014 Faculty Policy Intensive Fellows

Robin Arends, MS, CN
South Dakota State University

Tammy Barbé
, PhD, RN, CNE
Georgia Baptist College of Nursing of
Mercer University  

Joseph Burkard
University of San Diego

Kim J. Cox
, PhD, CNM
University of New Mexico

Sharron J. Crowder
, PhD, RN
Indiana University

Nicole F. Garritano
The University of Cincinnati

Janice Lazear
University of Maryland 
Jennifer Lemoine
Professions University of Louisiana
 at Lafayette


2013 Faculty Policy Intensive Fellows (Inaugural Class)

Patricia Brennan, PhD, RN, MS, DPNAP

Samuel Merritt University 

Camille Burnett, PhD, MPA, RN,

University of Virginia School of Nursing 

Melondie Carter, DSN, RN
University of Alabama

Lilia A. Fuentes, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC

The University of Texas – Pan American

Mary Garnica, DNP, APNFNP-BC
University of Central Arkansas

Sharon Guthrie, PhD, ARNP, CPNP, NCSN, RN-BC

Mount Mercy University

Joanne Noone, PhD, RN, CNE
Oregon Health & Science University

Andrea Sonenberg, PhD, WHNP, CNM

Pace University



Please contact Director of Policy, Dr. Colleen Leners at cleners@aacnnursing.org or (202) 463-6930 ext. 223.