Skip to main content

Fay Raines Honored with Sister Bernadette Armiger Award at Academic Nursing Leadership Conference

Dr. Fay Raines was presented with AACN’s prestigious Sister Bernadette Armiger award on October 30, 2017 at the Academic Nursing Leadership Conference in Washington, DC. The Sister Bernadette Armiger Award is bestowed annually upon an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the association, to nursing education, and to the advancement of the nursing profession. The award was established to honor the distinguished service of AACN’s third president. 

 As a lifelong nurse leader and educator, Dr. Raines impact on the profession is extraordinary. She served as Dean and Professor of the College of Nursing at the University of Alabama in Huntsville from 1990 to 2014. Her service with AACN has been outstanding in both quality and quantity, beginning with her tenure as Chair of the Task Force on Articulation, as a member of the Masters Education Conference Subcommittee, and on the AACN-AONE Task Force on Differentiated Practice.  

Dr. Raines was elected to the AACN Board of Directors in 2002 and served as Treasurer, President-Elect, and President during a time of unprecedented change for nursing. More recently, her leadership was tapped to lead the Futures Task Force—which set the stage for a new strategic plan for AACN—and, most recently, the Governance Task Force, which is charting the path forward for the organization. Dr. Raines has clearly left her mark and has lived Sister Armiger’s legacy of service to AACN through the advancement of nursing education on practice.

See all past award winners >>