AACN Advocate of the Year Award

The AACN Advocate of the Year Award honors one politically savvy and distinguished member whose advocacy over the past year has promoted academic nursing’s priorities in the federal sphere. The Government Affairs staff compiles data on exceptional member advocates and presents this information to the Government Affairs Committee for review.

The award is presented annually at the AACN Deans Annual Meeting in the spring. The Government Affairs Committee Chair will present the award to the winner at the Meeting before the membership.

The criteria for the award will be based mostly on quantitative data gathered and participation in AACN’s government affairs and advocacy efforts over the past year, including:

  • Number of AACN Advocacy Alerts to which the candidate has responded
  • Number of Hill and district office visits recorded
  • Past participation in AACN’s Government Affairs Committee (GAC), past or current participation in State Grassroots Liaison (SGL) program, or other AACN government affairs/advocacy initiatives
  • Frequency of interaction (phone calls, emails, visits) with GA staff to promote AACN’s legislative agenda in their state
  • Additionally: Current members of the GAC and the Board of Directors are not eligible

Dr. Janie Heath, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN, FNAP, FAANP, University of Kentucky

Philip Greiner, DNSc, RN, University of San Diego

Li Loriz, PhD, GNP, BC, University of North Florida

Andrea Hollingsworth, PhD, RN, Gwynedd Mercy University

Jane Kirschling, PhD, RN, FAAN, University of Maryland

Sharon Mailey, PhD, RN, Shepherd University

Mary Burman, PhD, FAANP, FAAN, University of Wyoming

Teri Murray, PhD, APHN-BC, RN, FAAN, Saint Louis University

Nancy DeBasio, PhD, RN, FAAN, Research College of Nursing

Carolyn Yucha, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN, University of Nevada

Kathryn Tart, EdD, University of Houston-Victoria


For more information, contact AACN Director of Government Affairs Rachel Stevenson at 202-463-6930, ext. 271 or rstevenson@aacnnursing.org.

2023 Award Winner 

Dr. Carole Kenner, PhD, RN, FAAN

From left to right: Award Winner Dr. Carole Kenner and AACN Board Chair Dr. Cynthia McCurren

From left to right: Award Winner Dr. Carole Kenner and AACN Board Chair Dr. Cynthia McCurren