CNC Board of Commissioners

Effective July 1, 2022

CNC is governed by the CNC Board of Commissioners comprised by nine members, four of which represent academia, another four represent practice and one public-member.

Commissioners            Term Expiration               
Sonya Curtis, DHA, DNP, MBA, RN, CNL, VHA-CM 

Quality Manager (Acting) 
VISN 20 Nurse Manager and Quality Management Coordinator
VHA - VISN 20 Clinical Resource Hub
Crowley, TX
Chair Term Expires June 30, 2025

  June 30, 2025    Sonya Curtis

Heather Vitko, PhD, RN, CNL, CCRN, TCRN (Vice-Chair)
Associate Professor, CNL Coordinator, MSN Program Director
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

  June 30, 2025   headshot of heather vitko
Jackie Barber, EdD, MSN, RN, CNL, CNS (Treasurer)
Dean of Nylen School of Nursing 
Morningside University
Sioux City, IA
  June 30, 2024   Jackie Barber

Desrie Nisbett, MA (Secretary and Public Member)
Assistant to the Dean
University of Louisville School of Nursing
Louisville, KY

  June 30, 2025   headshot of desrie nisbett
Linda L. Borns, DNP, RN, CCRN, CNL, EBP (CH)
Women's Health Clinical Navigator
Dayton VA Medical Center
Dayton, OH 
  June 30, 2024   Linda Borns
Cathy Coleman, DNP, MSN, RN, CNL, CPHQ
Associate Professor
University of San Francisco SON and Health Professions
San Francisco, CA
  June 30, 2024   Cathy Coleman
Chief Nursing Officer and Adjunct Faculty 
Prisma Health, Baptist and Baptist Parkridge Hospital
Columbia, SC
  June 30, 2024   Tina Ralyea
Megan Williams, MSN, RN, CNL
Director of Complex Care
Regional One Health
Memphis, TN
  June 30, 2026   Megan-Williams

James L. Harris, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, MBA,  CNL, FAAN
Professor of Nursing
University of South Alabama College of Nursing
Mobile, Alabama

  June 30, 2026   James-L-Harris
Lynn Gardner, Staff Liaison
Director of Certification, Commission on Nurse Certification