New Era for Academic Nursing Award Winners

2018 Winner2018 New Era for Academic Nursing award winners

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing and their practice partner University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital

2017 Winners

2017 New Era for Academic Nursing award winnersUniversity of Utah College of Nursing and their practice partner University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics

The Northeast Region VA Nursing Alliance (NERVANA)

  • Boston College Williams F. Connell School of Nursing 
  • Northeastern University School of Nursing 
  • Regis College School of Nursing 
  • Simmons College School of Nursing and Health Sciences 
  • University of Massachusetts-Lowell Solomont School of Nursing 
  • University of Massachusetts-Boston College of Nursing and Health Sciences 
  • Boston Bedford VA

  • View Demonstrated Recommendation(s) and Characteristic(s)

AACN award winners are selected based on the following criteria


The academic nursing partnership demonstrates an innovative and sustained relationship that meets one of the following six New Era report recommendations: 

  • Embrace a New Vision of Academic Nursing,
  • Enhance the Clinical Practice of Academic Nursing,
  • Partner in Preparing the Nurses of the Future,
  • Partner in the Implementation of Accountable Care,
  • Invest in Nursing Research Programs and Better Integrate Research into Clinical Practice, and
  • Implement an Advocacy Agenda in Support of a New Era for Academic Nursing.

The joint partnership exemplifies one of the following ideal six characteristics: 

  • Shared Governance and Open Communication, 
  • Alignment of Vision, Goals, and Strategy, 
  • Supportive Resources and Infrastructure, 
  • Integrative Research Programs, 
  • Interprofessional Collaboration, and 
  • Focus on Improved Community Health Outcomes.


Call for 2019 Nominations

Submit Nomination

Deadline: May 1, 2019